Fat Hands

she used to sit in this cafe, and just face the wall. And it wasn’t coffee she was drinking

Splish Splash

Posted by Alix on 23 July 2007

(photo from BBC website)
It’s a bit damp where I grew up in Oxfordshire. It’s usual for the village to flood, but I’ve never seen the waters as high as this. I wish I was there, I loved the floods as a child; they didn’t affect my house what with it being up a hill, so they were basically an excuse to go and get wet, and see my everyday surroundings magically transformed. There’s something quite amazing about canoeing over a submerged field; you can see the grass under you like a strange underwater world, with you flying over the top of it. I know I’m in the minority enjoying this, and I do sympathise with everyone who’s not doing so well really!
Leave a Reply

 
