Fat Hands

she used to sit in this cafe, and just face the wall. And it wasn’t coffee she was drinking

send me dead flowers

Posted by Alix on 30 March 2006

I returned from my holidays to find that all my plants had died, despite having enough water and light. I am a bit annoyed, and perplexed – I attempt these things and can never find rational reasons why they don’t work. Breadmaking is the same. Bloody yeast. I read Shopped on my hols, and have resolved not to use supermarkets again. I don’t know how practical this will be, but I’m going to give it a shot. With regard to my reading I am onto the final in my Murakami backlog, and will soon move onto more varied reads.
My shopping diaries cover the main action from my French adventure, ie we mainly ate a lot of food and did very little else. We did do a few things though…we visited a nice town called Perigeaux that had a nice cathedral. French churches don’t seem to have pews in, I noted. I liked the individual ‘Merci’ plaques tacked to the walls behind the various saints in alcoves, whatever their technical name is. Also in Perigeaux I got my first and hopefully last experience of French public toilets. We visited Rochechouart Museum of Contemporary Art, housed in an old chateau complete with murals, which were in strange juxtaposition to the contemporary art. The best bit really though, was looking out the chateau windows at the surrounding countryside and imagining being a French noblewoman from Ye Past. We also visited a nearby lake and had a wander about the surrounding pine forest, where I found lots of quartz in rocks, and rocks with odd shiny flaky pieces, which I must get identified, as I have no idea what they are. Spent the rest of the week sitting about reading, playing cards and other diverting things. The house was full of great books; there wasn’t enough time to do them justice. I was also pleased to win the plasticine
modelling contest
with my bird model.
Notable foods and drinks consumed –
3. 3 types of cherry beer, Mort Subite wins again.
4. boudin noir
5. horse sausage
6. goose rilettes
7. lady fingers
8. cassoulet
9. tartiflette
10. spicy tripe sausage (vile)
11. some very nice ham avec herbes
12. goats cheese Babybel
13. Schweppe’s Citron, Lychee and Cactus drink – the name promises a lot, the smell is suggestive of lychees, yet it tastes of nothing, not even lemon. Very bizarre.
14. Blue Curacao. Possibly a mistake.
15. little cakes from a patisserie

Finally – these are the creatures I saw from the Stansted Express on the way to the airport – 12 horses, 1 donkey, 14 magpies, 1 moorhen, 7 sheep, 2 dogs, 1 pheasant, 3 swans, 1 duck, 2 seagulls, 1 coot and about 20 rabbits.

Photos

Leave a Reply

 
