Fat Hands

she used to sit in this cafe, and just face the wall. And it wasn’t coffee she was drinking

Growing things

Posted by Alix on 5 March 2006

Busy weekend again, sort of craving the chance to sit about and do nothing, but even when I get that chance I am rarely able to stop finding things to do. This week I baked my first lot of bread rolls ever (followed recipe wrong, turned out edible initially but soon became rock solid), planted some basil, mint and coriander, and made a load of vegetable soup. Quite keen to grow tomatoes but not entirely sure how. I’d also like to find out how to grow mushrooms but all I get when I google is how to grow magic mushrooms. I suppose the principle is the same, but even so. Hardly suitable for lunchbreak reading at work.
We went to Tre Viet on Friday – had a nice but plain beef dish, and ended up wishing I’d stuck with what I usually order. We then went to Bethnal Green, popped into the Pleasure Unit to kill some time and listen to some soul, then went to Legal Tender at the Working Mens Club. Really nice venue, reminiscent of when I used to play tenor horn at the British Legion. The music was alright, but not fantastic.
Saturday I met up with various people and wandered around Old Street and Hoxton looking at art. Can’t remember the names of all the places, but most of it was good. Liked Backdrop in the Bloomberg space a lot – lots of lovely lights – particularly liked ‘Candelabra’ by David Batchelor and ‘Column’ by Leo Villareal. I am a sucker for pretty lights basically. It doesn’t have to be anything more than that really. The Liza Lou beaded sculptures at White Cube were impressively obsessive and technically astonishing, if not actually very interesting as objects. The James Hopkins ‘Hole In My Eye’ stuff at Max Wigram Gallery was clever, especially ‘Prosperity & Decay’ (I think) and nicely unquirky. The Dicksmith Gallery was the only place where the art felt pointless and unappealing.
Today I went and watered the plants round Clapton Pond, then raked stinking dead leaves from it, then ate cake, courtesy of Clapton Pond Neighbourhood Action Group.

Leave a Reply

 
