Fat Hands

she used to sit in this cafe, and just face the wall. And it wasn’t coffee she was drinking

Having a Turkish

Posted by Alix on 22 December 2005

I realised a while back that my experience of foods from different countries is not as varied as I’d like it to be, mainly due to using Pollo as a default eatery choice, and in the back of my mind I’ve been intending to make more of an effort in this respect. I’d never had Turkish before (at least, I don’t think I have, although I did once go to a restaurant in Harringay, which one could reasonably presume was Turkish, but I cannot remember anything about this event, so it may as well not have happened). So, when Elly asked if we fancied going to Dalston to sample the local ocakbasi type delights I was pretty keen. We went to 19 Numara Bos Cirrik on Stoke Newington Road (not to be confused with 19 Numara Bos Cirrik II which is actually in Stoke Newington, and of the two outlets is the one that Time Out have chosen to review as it would appear they are too scared to venture into Dalston). Anyhow, it was a pleasantly relaxed sort of place with non-intimidating staff. I tend to feel a bit uncomfortable with waiting staff. I’m not sure if it’s a mix of my shyness, their incompetence or unintelligibility, or feeling rushed or ignored, or whatever, but it usually means I feel a little tense eating out, however much I am enjoying everything else. Anyway, the food – I really like it when I get a range of dishes, and there’s not too much of any and not too little either, so you feel like you got a good selection. The friendly but not over friendly waiter brought some normal salad, which I left alone due to an inexplicable sudden mental aversion to grated carrot, and also a good grilled onion thing in winy vinegary sauce that I could have drank from the plate but had to restrict myself to just mopping up with bread. My main dish was a huge dish of aubergine and minced lamb on top of a soft flatbread. The aubergines were squishy on the inside but with skin that was almost crispy. Also of note was that they appeared to be serving Turtamek Sour Cherry Juice, which I have been unable to find since about 2000, seeing as the shops all seem to stock the vastly inferior Dimes range of juices nowadays. I may have been wrong on this though. Anyway, I have now had a Turkish, and can conclude that not only is it nummy, but easy on the wallet too.

Leave a Reply

 
