Fat Hands

she used to sit in this cafe, and just face the wall. And it wasn’t coffee she was drinking

Albums of the year, according to my last.fm

Posted by Alix on 4 January 2009

I’ve been using last.fm all year, and have a policy of mostly putting it on shuffle. There’s a whole load of random stuff on my itunes, so it often comes out looking a bit weird. The chart below shows my most played albums of the last 12 months, and on the whole it seems a fairly accurate reflection of my listening this year, despite my scattergun approach.  There’s a couple of surprises – Wire coming in second is odd – I rarely put Wire on, and don’t recall listening to them much at all.  Sodastream I’m not sure what they’re doing there as I didn’t even think I had put that album on itunes, and don’t remember listening to them more than a couple of times. The high incidence of M.Ward, Destroyer, White Hinterland, Shins and Roxy Music are fair though, and it’s good to see the Clientele making inroads into the chart. What’s missing is Fleet Foxes – I don’t think I ever uploaded this to itunes, otherwise it’d be pretty near the top, I think.

lastfm2008

My top artist for the year was Destroyer, thanks to me putting in some dedicated listening in the last few months. Really quite an impressive performance given that they were mostly unknown to me before the summer.

My top track was White Hinterland’s Dreaming of the Plum Trees, which was the first WH song I heard, and I played it a lot.

So, onwards into 2009. I wonder what music it will bring?

Leave a comment